Opening doors

I love my camera. I feel naked if I leave the house without it. I have a bad shoulder from its weight, I have a permanent red mark on my neck from the strap. I broke my coccyx falling down a set of concrete stairs whilst taking photos in the Outer Hebrides. I see life in rectangles. I have a constant crick in my neck from looking at different angles. I use a rucksack as a handbag as it’s the only bag that will fit my lenses so nothing fashionable for me. BUT I would not change anything – my camera has changed my life in ways I could never have imagined.

I’ve written my own books, illustrated books for amazing educators who I admire greatly and from whom I’ve learnt so much. I’m an associate of Independent Thinking Ltd a group of the funniest, kindest most innovative people you could ever wish to meet.


I’ve run courses at places such as The Hepworth, Chatsworth, and YSP in the future, all places where real artists work.


I’ve been to Kakuma refugee camp which was a life changing experience and so far removed from our daily life here it’s indescribable – the photos I took have been instrumental in educating people about life there and inspiring others to become involved, in turn raising money for new classrooms. I’m spending 3 days a week this Summer blogging for my local RSPB site and learning so much along the way. I can now identify black tailed Godwits, Great Crested Grebes and fox poo!!


I love the fact that Tommy is already a keen photographer, always ready to use the compact camera I keep in my bag. He gleefully cries ‘cheese’ whenever he spots it – I will have to teach him to call it a camera but love the idea of it being a cheese.


I’ve had the privilege of working with the amazing Barnsley Youth Choir since 2009 and watched them grow into the world class choir they are now, as well as meeting the inspirational Laszlo and the Aurin girls. Edinburgh fringe next week.


That’s not forgetting the number of fantastic schools and children I’ve been invited to work with.

I’m going to Shanghai in October to work at the Festival of Education at Wellington College alongside Ian Gilbert and Paul Clarke ( I am beyond excited!)- all of this from being a #grannyfrombarnsleywithacamera 😃

I love my camera

Leave a Reply

